Ionian Yacht Charter

The Ionian Sea with its many beautiful Islands, mild winds, crystal clear blue waters and predictable weather patterns offers excellent safe sailing conditions for experienced sailors and newcomers alike.

Yacht charter in the Greek Ionian is considered to be the best cruising area in the whole of Greece. Between May and August the winds blow from the north, whereas in September, October and April there are southern winds.

There are many beautiful Islands to see and explore with lush scenery, sites of mythological and historic interest, calm sheltered bays and sheltered harbours with local tavernas where you can moor for the night. You can sample the local food, explore and experience a little of the islands atmosphere before you set sail again for your next delightful Ionian Island.



The Ionian Islands are traditionally called the Heptanese, meaning "the Seven Islands" but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones. The seven are, from north to south:

  • Kerkyra usually known as Corfu
  • Paxi also known as Paxos
  • Lefkada also known as Lefkas
  • Ithaki usually known as Ithaca
  • Kefalonia often known as Kefalonia, Cephalonia and Kefallinia
  • Zakynthos sometimes known as Zante
  • Kythira sometimes known as Cerigo

The Ionian Region of Greece consists of three groups of islands.

Yacht Charter Greece: Northern Ionian

Corfu (Kerkyra) forms the most significant part of the northern group and is the administrative capital of the Ionian Islands Region. The northern group also includes the smaller Diapontia islands of Othoni, Erikoussa and Mathraki, and the islands of Paxos and Antipaxos to the south.

Yacht Charter Greece: Southern Ionian

Further south, the more densely clustered central group of Ionian islands consists of Lefkas (Lefkada) with  just a narrow sea canal separating it from the Greek mainland, and the smaller islands that surround it including  Skorpios, Meganissi, Kalamos, Kastos, Skorpidi, Madouri, Sparti, Heloni, Thileia and Kythros. The central group of Ionian islands also includes the larger islands of Kefalonia, Zakynthos (Zante) and the much celebrated Ithaka (Ithaki).

Yacht Charter Greece: Western coast of Mainland Greece, Ionian Sea

To the east of the Ionian Islands stretches the western coast of Mainland Greece (Epirus). The ports of Igoumenitsa, Parga, Sivota and Preveza nestle along these shores washed by the same crystal blue waters of the Ionian Sea sharing the same natural character and ambience of the islands making these towns and villages popular for visiting sailing yachts.